BIG Anticipation for the BIG Day

Okaaaaay, I am now 39 weeks and 1 day, but who’s counting?!  I am about to embark on this amazing rite of passage in womanhood… becoming a mother.  I still look at myself in the mirror and think, “Oh my God, I am going to have a baby!”  You’d think after 274 days of pregnancy, half of which have included tons of baby kicks, flips and punches, the fact that I am going to have a baby would have sunk in by now, but it hasn’t. The only thing I can think about right now is the highly anticipated BIG day…the day my 1st born child will arrive…the day I will give birth.  When will it finally get here? The anticipation is KILLING me! I have attempted to forbid myself from watching TLC’s Birth Day or A Baby Story, but I can’t help myself.  I love seeing the newborn baby being placed on the mother’s chest, taking her first breath of air, shouting his first cry.  I simply cannot wait any longer for this very moment!  In the big picture, I know that it is just days away and will be here and gone in a flash.

So, I am savoring the BIG anticipation for now.   How does one do this?  NESTING!!!  Nesting is described in Parenting Weekly as “an uncontrollable urge to clean one’s house brought on by a desire to prepare a nest for the new baby, to tie up loose ends of old projects and to organize your world.  Females of the animal kingdom are all equipped with this same need. It is a primal instinct. Just as you see birds making their nests, mothers-to-be do exactly the same thing. The act of nesting puts you in control and gives a sense of accomplishment toward birth. You may become a homebody and want to retreat into the comfort of home and familiar company, like a brooding hen. The nesting urge can also be seen as a sign of the onset of labor when it occurs close to 40 weeks of pregnancy.”  Over the last 4-6 weeks, my husband and/or I have been very busy nesting.  We’ve:

  • attended breastfeeding class, infant CPR certification, childbirth education
  • basically performed a complete renovation on the nursery
  • cleaned, scrubbed and disinfected EVERYTHING
  • installed a dishwasher (YAY!!!!)
  • done about 40 loads of laundry…blankets, baby clothes, cloth diapers, sheets, etc
  • constructed a crib, co-sleeper, chair & ottoman
  • hung wall decorations, pictures, etc
  • Purged & Organized
  • Taken on second job as domestic diva – Knitting & Baking
  • packed bags, wrote & re-wrote birth plan and a variety of other checklists
  • the list goes on….

So, this brooding hen is feeling very accomplished and very well-nested, but still I do not have the control!  I can try to wish her out, but my body and baby hold the key. My next plan…. Thanksgiving is coming in a few days and I will eat too much, take a long walk uphill, and hopefully cross my much anticipated rite of passage very soon!

6 thoughts on “BIG Anticipation for the BIG Day

  1. Love your blog, Jill.
    I still can remember those days of anticipation, wonder, and of course, some fear of the unknown. These days are your best yet… but, hold on, there are more wonderful, fun-filled days ahead!

  2. All your friends at Club Fit are waiting for the news of the big day! Can’t wait!

    Remember, they really do grow up…and they become amazing companions, friends, confidants and supporters. Love them and let them go.

    Love Barb

  3. You’re so on top of everything. I think my nesting comprised only of buying Sweet n Low for my mom’s tea in anticipation of all the times when she would hopefully come over to help me with the baby. Happy pushing Jill!

Leave a Reply

