Go Green Baby

LLB in Flip Diapers - one of the few hybrid diapers out there

LongLeanBaby is 15 weeks old now and I’m finally getting motivated to go green and cloth diaper. Throughout my pregnancy I was determined to cloth diaper LLB right from the time she was born, but that grand plan, along with many others, went out the door! I was exhausted and I thought it was easier for daddy and the grandparents to change her in disposables. Now that I have a few months of mommy experience under my belt, I am ready to respond to that nagging guilt I’ve been feeling every time I throw another disposable in the trash. So, now I am commiting myself to it…I am going to Go Green baby!!! Over the past few weeks I have tried cloth diapering for a day then fell back into the ease and convenience of the disposables. Then I remind myself of the many reasons why cloth diapering is a great thing to do:

  • Significant cost savings – you can save over $2000 by going the cloth diaper route!!! Check out this chart for a breakdown: Cloth vs disposables
  • Environmental benefits – disposable diapers take hundreds of years to biodegrade
  • Better for your babe – there’s chemicals in most disposable diapers (perfumes, chlorine, etc)
  • Quicker potty training – everyone I know who has cloth diapered have said their children potty trained much sooner…its due to the baby being aware that they are wet vs staying dry all the time in a disposable. They don’t like being wet and will associate the wetness with wearing a diaper hence the desire to go to the potty! (PS – this equals additional cost savings!!!)
  • Oh and yes, they are super cute and much easier to use these days..a huge new trend!!

Most people think, eeeeeew, I don’t want to clean up the mess OR its seems like way too much of a hassle! Seriously, its really not that bad AND its pretty simple. Here is some useful information to help you get started…

  1. Types of cloth diapers. There are 4 basic types…Prefolds, All-in-Ones (AIO), Fitted Diapers, Pocket Diapers. Click here for a helpful overview of these 4 types. There are also hybrid diapers. Hybrids, not discussed in the 4 basic types, is one that has both a cloth insert or a biodegradable disposable insert. These are a great option for people who want the convenience of a disposable but a diaper that is far friendlier to the environment. There are 3 brands that I know of – gDiapers, GroBaby, and Flip Diapers all of which are great. I have a variety of cloth diapers, LITERALLY…I have at least one of each. This is a great way to figure out what works best for you. Then, once you know you can make a larger investment on your favorites. The best thing to do is find a local store that can guide you through the process of cloth diapering. My local shop is Waddle n Swaddle in Poughkeepsie, NY. They have a large selection of cloth diapers and a staff that is very knowledgeable on how each system works. They even offer classes to help demystify the whole cloth diapering world. Very cool! To date, my personal favorites are BumGenious AIO and organic One Size, toss up between Flip diapers and GroBaby hybrids, and I’m even getting good with prefolds and snappys (no more diaper pins!) wirh an adorable Thirties Whisper Wrap:) So fun!
  2. The mess. Yes, it can be a messy job cleaning a cloth diaper but its no worse than contending with the all too common blow outs, so suck it up and deal, its for a great cause! Plus, today’s cloth diapering is far simpler than the “old days”. With all the fancy new options like AIOs & Fitteds, the diapers are much easier to use and if the contact with poop freaks you out, there are liners that you can put in the diaper so all you have to do is lift the mess out and flush it. There is also a great little hose contraption that you can attach to the back of your toilet that makes it easy to wash the diaper off right into the bowl! There are a ton of great accessories out there, it just depends on the investment you’re looking to make.
  3. The fit. My issue in the newborn stage was that the diapers were HUGE on her and made her clothes fit funny. However, there are a variety of newborn cloth diapers out there that fit much better, I just didn’t have them. Another option to try if you are finding that clothes aren’t fitting well, just go up a size.

So thats my two cents…it’s a lot to take in! I highly recommend doing lots of research and talking to people who currently cloth diaper. I am still very new to it and sometimes I still put her in a disposable. I am doing the best I can and believe that every little bit counts-for LLB’s bum, the wallet, and the environment! So, join me and get going GREEN!

Leave a Reply

